Distinguished Professors of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences

Distinguished Professor of FAES

The title of Distinguished Professor of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences honors colleagues at the rank of Professor who have excelled in teaching, research, or outreach/engagement, and whose work has demonstrated significant impact on their fields, students, CFAES, and University, and/or the public. It is essential that such professorships are reserved for the most distinguished faculty. Therefore, no more than 10% of the total number of those holding the rank of Professor in CFAES may hold this title at any one time. 

To be eligible, Professors must not already hold a titled position, such as Eminent Scholar, Distinguished University Professor, or an endowed chair or professorship, and will have generally served in rank for at least five years at Ohio State or a peer university. Eligible Professors must be active and respected scholars in their field of specialization, with records of sustained and significant productivity throughout their careers, including the years at full rank. They also must have a record of excellence in teaching and outstanding service to their TIUs, CFAES, University, profession, and/or the community. In evaluating and prioritizing these areas, reviewers will keep in mind the diversity of faculty activities across CFAES as well as the trajectory of individual faculty members’ careers and the areas in which they have focused their efforts.

Distinguished Professors of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences

Elena Irwin








Dr. Elena Irwin
Department of Environmental, and Development Economics (AEDE)

Sally Miller








Dr. Sally Miller
Departmet of Plant Pathology

Devin Peterson








Dr. Devin Peterson
Department of Food Science and Technology

Judit Puskas







Dr. Judit Puskas
Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering (FABE)

M. Susie Whittington








Dr. M. Susie Whittington
Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership (ACEL)


Previously Awarded Distinguished Professors of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences

Dr. Linda Lobao
School of Environment and Natural Resources

Dr. Ahmed Yousef
Department of Food Science and Technology